EPISODE 223 - The Appointment

Previously on DALLAS:

---------------Ricky, aka Miguel Trevino, tampered with Christopher's saddle, but it was Heather's younger brother Bryce who ended up getting hurt.

---------------Brad told Pamela about the loss of his and Amanda's son, leading Pamela to become afraid of getting pregnant again because of the disease that runs in the Barnes family.

---------------While in Dallas, Amanda met with Dylan and apologized for hurting him in an attempt to make amends for her past.

---------------Christopher figured out that Ricky Hernandez was really Miguel Trevino, oldest son of Nicolas Trevino!

---------------Ray and Conner helped the Ewings trap Miguel, and hold him at the cabin at Southfork.  Later, Christopher and Miguel confronted each other over he past and came to an understanding.

Southfork....morning....

 Bobby and Ann are having breakfast in the dining room when Christopher and Courtney walk in.  "Morning, Dad.  Ann,"  Christopher says.

 

"Morning,"  Bobby says.

 

"Christopher, Courtney,"  says Ann.  

 

Christopher walks over to the small table by the window and pours himself a cup of coffee as John Ross and Krystina walk in.  

 

"Well, well, looks like a small group for breakfast this mornin',"  John Ross says.

 

"The boys are getting ready for school,"  Courtney says.  "So they'll be down soon."

 

"So how's our little........guest?"  John Ross asks.

 

"If you mean Miguel, he's just fine,"  Christopher replies.

 "Y'know, I can't believe you'd just let that kid go like that without turnin' him over to the sheriff,"  John Ross says.

 

"John Ross, I didn't let Miguel go,"  says Christopher.  

 

"Bum placed an electronic ankle monitor on the boy,"  Bobby says.  "Miguel's not goin' anywhere without us bein' able to track his every move."

 

 

 

"Besides, John Ross, we're gonna need Miguel if we're gonna......."  Christopher pauses for a second and looks at Courtney.  ".......If we're gonna go after Shawn."

 

 

"Should we REALLY be talkin' about this right now?"  John Ross asks, glancing at Courtney.

 

"What, you mean because I'm here?" Courtney asks.

 

"Well, darlin', you ARE Shawn Smith's sister."

 

 

"Christopher told me everything last night, John Ross, so you don't have to worry about me being a spy for Shawn.  After what he did.......he deserves whatever you do to him."

 

"I trust my wife implicitly, John Ross," says Christopher.

 

"We all do,"  adds Bobby.  

 

"Thank you, Bobby."

 

"Well, Christopher, I'm still worried about that Trevino kid still bein' on this ranch and not locked in a jail cell somewhere after what he did.  Now if it had been me, I'd have his ass put UNDER the jail."

 

"Yeah, well, it's not you, John Ross,"  Christopher says.  "Miguel Trevino is a young kid with a lot of anger and a lot of sadness.  What's it gonna accomplish by putting him in jail?  It's just gonna make him even more angry and bitter at the world, and turn him into a real criminal."

 

"A REAL criminal?  You don't think spyin' on us in our own home and tamperin' with your saddle to try to kill or hurt you aren't the acts of a REAL criminal?  You and Uncle Bobby.....the two of you with your soft, bleedin' hearts, I swear.  You just feel guilty because you killed that boy's old man, which Nicolas Trevino was a monster and he deserved to die, but yet you're still feelin' so guilty over it that you'd let his kid get away with anything."

 

"Ya know what, maybe I AM feeling a little guilty because what I did destroyed that boy's life and his family, and I'm not gonna apologize for feeling that way.  At least I have the capacity to feel guilty about the things I do."

 

"And what the hell's that supposed to mean?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Alright, that's enough, both of you!"  Bobby angrily says as Lucas, Heather, Michael, and Jacob walk in.

 

"Well, looks like another pleasant morning at Southfork,"  Lucas says.

 

"Do we really have to have an argument at EVERY family meal?"  Krystina asks.  

 

"That's a good question,"  says Ann.  

 

"You've both been members of this family long enough to know that's how we do things around here,"  Christopher says.

 

"Hell, I'm gonna get to the office, anyway,"  John Ross says, getting up from the table.  "Y'know what, Christopher?  You got some real serious trust issues.  You trust too damned much, and you trust the wrong people.  You trust a kid who tried to kill you, but you never trust me, your own blood cousin who's always had your back in a pinch.  Well, one day, cousin, you're gonna trust the wrong person."  John Ross angrily leaves the room.  

 

Christopher and Krystina exchange looks across the table.  

The bunkhouse....a couple of minutes later....

 

John Ross's car pulls up in front of the bunkhouse a couple of minutes later.  He gets out of the car and walks up to the house, where he sees one of the hands.  "Hey, Jonah, you know where Miguel........uh, where Ricky is?"

 

"Yes, sir, Mr. Ewing," the young ranch hand replies in a thick southern accent.  "I thank he's in the bathroom."

 

"Thank ya, son,"  John Ross says.  Young Jonah watches as John Ross walks up onto the porch and goes into the bunkhouse, then he walks past the bunkhouse with his horse.

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile, in the bunkhouse bathroom, Ricky has just finished brushing his teeth and stands in front of the mirror.  He looks at himself in the mirror, thinking about his current situation.  After a moment, he bends down and lifts up the pants on his left leg, exposing the electronic monitor attached to his ankle, keeping track of his every move. Ricky is startled 

when John Ross walks into the bathroom.  

 

"What are you doing here?"  A nervous Ricky asks.

 

"Well, I own half this ranch, which means I can go any place on it I damned well please,"  John Ross says.  

 

"What do you want with me?"

 

"To issue you a warning,"  John Ross says.  "My cousin Christopher is a bit of a bleedin' heart, and he might've bought those tears of yours, and that poor little misunderstood kid who's sorry for all his sins act, but I don't.  With that little ankle monitor thing you got on there, your every move can be tracked.  But I just want you to know that I'll be watchin' you, boy.  You do anything else to hurt this fam'ly, or you even think about double crossin' us when it comes to dealin' with Shawn Smith, and you're gonna wish you'd never left Mexico.  You might even end up like that no good daddy of yours."

 

"You are threatening me, Mr. Ewing?"  Miguel asks.

 

"Just givin' you fair warnin', son," John Ross replies, then turns and leaves.

 

Miguel looks at himself in the mirror, a look of anger and fear on his face.


Ewing Oil....

 Sly and Sally are at their desks that morning when John Ross walks into Ewing Oil.  "Mornin', ladies,"  he says.

 

"Morning, John Ross,"  says Sly.

 

"Good morning, John Ross,"  says Sally.

 

"Any messages?"

 

"Yes, Sue Ellen said she wants to see you as soon as you come in, and Jason Lee called and wants you to call him back as soon as possible,"  Sly replies.  "And here's the morning mail."  She hands John Ross a stack of mail. He takes it and looks through.

 

"Okay, thanks.  Sally, any idea what my Mama wants to see me about?"  John Ross asks.

 

"No, she didn't tell me." 

 

John Ross nods, then walks over to Sue Ellen's office and knocks on the door.  "Come in,"  she says.

 

John Ross walks into the office.  "Sly said you wanted to see me."

 

"Yes.  I think I have a way that we can make up for the loss of that Roberson farm in Harris County,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

"Well, I'm all ears."

 

"Take a look at this,"  Sue Ellen says, unfolding a map.  "This is a tract of land in Coke County, it's about ten miles from the Southern Cross.  And, this piece of land is sitting on top of a very rich oil reserve."

 

"How'd you find out about this?"  

 

"One of the county commissioners down in San Angelo, who's a friend of mine, contacted me yesterday,"  Sue Ellen replies.  "The property is owned by a couple named Murdock, and I think for the right price, we could get them to sell."

 

"Well, fine.  Why don't you handle it?"

 

Sue Ellen smiles.  "I'd love to.  In fact, I'll fly down on the Ewing jet in a couple days of days and see them.  It'll feel good if I can pull this off to make a deal again."

 

"Well, I'm sure you'll be able to pull it off, Mama.  You can be real persuasive when you need to be."

 

"Thank you.  I heard about what's been going on out at Southfork.  I talked to Ann last night."

 

"So you know that new kid Uncle Bobby and Lucas hired as a hand a few months ago?  That he's really Nicolas Trevino's son?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Yes."

 

"And would you believe that instead of sittin' in jail right now like he should be, that kid is still at Southfork free as a bird, thanks to Christopher and his bleedin' heart."

 

"Well, Ann did tell me that the Trevino boy was being made to wear one of those ankle monitor things,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

"Yeah, Christopher and Uncle Bobby wanna use the kid to set a trap for Shawn Smith.  But Mama, I don't trust Trevino."

 

Sue Ellen sighs.  "Sounds to me like he's the only way you'll be able to prove Shawn Smith hired him to plant that bug at Southfork."

 

As John Ross is about to say something, Sally buzzes Sue Ellen's desk.

 

"Yes, Sally?" Sue Ellen says.

 

"Mrs. Ewing, your husband is here to see you."

 

Sue Ellen smiles.  "Oh, send him in."

 

"Well, I guess that's my cue to get the hell outta here."

 

"I'll talk to you more later about the Coke County property."

 

"Alright,"  John Ross says.  As he leaves Sue Ellen's office, he passes Catlin on his way in.

 

"John Ross,"  Catlin greets.

 

"Catlin,"  John Ross says as the two men pass each other.

 

Catlin walks into the office and closes the door.  Smiling, Sue Ellen walks over to her husband.  "Well, this is a surprise.  Didn't I just leave you at home about 45 minutes ago?"

 

"Yes, ma'am, you did, but I just couldn't stand to be away from my gorgeous wife all day,"  Catlin says, kissing her.  

 

"Darling, seriously, what are you doing here at 9:15 in the morning?"  Sue Ellen asks.  

 

"I have to fly down to Cherokee County this morning to take care of a problem on one of our rigs on our land down there, and I was hoping you could come with me."

 

"Well, I would absolutely love to."

 

Catlin smiles.  "Wonderful.  If you're free, we can leave right now.  I've already called the airport and told Henry to gas the Catlin Oil copper up."

 

"I do have a couple of appointments later this morning, but nothing that can't be rescheduled.  I'll have Sally reschedule those, and let John Ross know that I'm going with you."

 

"Alright.  Let's go, Mrs. Ewing,"  Catlin says, kissing her.  The two leave Sue Ellen's office together.

An office in Dallas....

 "Gentlemen, I feel that I would be a great asset to the Oil Regulatory Commission,"  Brad says, meeting with members of the committee tasked with choosing the members of the new ORC.  "Especially having had experience in the oil business myself."

 

"Mr. Barnes, while I certainly agree that your experience in the oil industry could serve you well on the Commission,"  another man says.  "I must say, I do have my doubts and concerns."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"And what might those doubts and concerns be, Senator?"  Brad asks.  "I'm here to address and hopefully put to rest any concerns you might have about my ability to serve on this commission."

 

 

 

"Alright, Mr. Barnes, I'll tell you what my concerns are,"  the Senator says.  "You're Cliff Barnes's son, for one thing.  And for another, I think your close ties to the oil industry could be more of a liability than an asset in the long run."

 

"A liability?  In what way?" Brad asks.  

 

"Mr. Barnes, I can tell what my main concern is,"  Senator Matt Culver says.  "It's your personal feelings about the Ewing family and your rather disturbing history with them.  Your history with the Ewing family is very similar to that of your late father's, and that leaves me to wonder if you can be truly objective when it comes to carrying out your duties on the ORC.  We need a man, or woman, with no prior entanglements to any of these oil companies the Commission will be charged with overseeing."

 

"Senator Culver, I can assure you that my past........dealings with the Ewings won't be a problem,"  says Brad.

 

"And you can assure us that you won't use your position on the ORC against Ewing Oil?"

 

Brad looks at Matt and slightly smiles.  "I intend to deal fairly with all the oil companies the Commission is charged with overseeing.  Senator, if I recall correctly, the Ewings are relatives of yours, aren't they?"

 

"My wife is related to the Ewings,"  Matt says.

 

"Same thing.  As I said, I will deal fairly in this job, and I won't let personal feelings interfere."

 

"I for one think that Mr. Barnes would be an excellent choice to head the ORC,"  says Claire Warner, the only woman present at the meeting.  

 

 

"And, I have to agree,"  says another man.  "I too, think Mr. Barnes will do an exemplary job as a member of the ORC."

 

"Alright, then,"  says Matt.  "Should we take a vote?"

 

"Yes, we've discussed this enough,"  says the other man.  "We need to go ahead and vote on whether or not to appoint Bradley Barnes to the Oil Regulatory Commission right now so that we can get this damned Commission off the ground.  This thing has been stalled for a whole year after that scandal involving Allison Jones and Peter Watson."

 

"I agree with Senator Fulbright,"  says Claire Warner.  "I say we vote."

 

Matt nods.  "Okay, let's vote then. Everyone have a seat, please."  The members of the committee take seats around a table, Matt at the head.  "Senator Fulbright, how do you vote on the matter of Bradley Barnes being appointed as a member of the Oil Regulatory Commission?  Yes or no?"

 

"Yes,"  Senator Fulbright replies.

 

"Senator Collins?"  Matt asks.

 

"No."

 

"Ms. Warner?"

 

"Yes."

 

Senator Beckett?"

 

"Yes."

 

Matt looks around and sighs.  "And I vote........no.  Well, looks like the yesses have it.  Congratulations, Mr. Barnes.  You are now an official member of the Oil Regulatory Commission."

 

Brad smiles. 

 

"And this meeting is adjourned," Matt says.

 

The committee members stand from their seats and begin talking among themselves.  Brad is shaking hands with Senator Fulbright, who is congratulating him on his appointment.  Claire Warner walks over to the men.  Senator Fulbright excuses himself and walks away.

 

"Mr. Barnes,"  Claire says with a smile.  "Congratulations."

"Thank you, Ms. Warner,"  Brad says.  "I certainly couldn't have made it without your vote."

 

"I was glad to help.  And as I said, I believe you'll be an asset to this Commission."

 

"And I'll do my best to live up to your confidence in me, Ms. Warner,"  Brad says.

 

"I'm sure you will,"  Claire says with a seductive smile.  "I'm quite sure that you'll live up to ALL my expectations, in every way.  And call me Claire."

 

"Of course........Claire."

Brad's apartment....later....

  

 Laying in bed in his apartment later in the afternoon, Brad takes a sip of a glass of bourbon.  "Almost done in there?"  He asks someone.

 

Claire Warner comes out of the bathroom and looks at him.  "Yes, I'm done,"  she says.  "Why, you miss me?"

 

"Definitely."

 

Claire walks over to the bed and takes a seat beside Brad.  "This afternoon was wonderful."

 

"Yes, it was.  In fact, today has been probably the best day of this whole year for me so far.  I got that appointment I wanted, despite Matt Culver's attempts to keep me off that Commission."

 

"Yes, Senator Culver did seem to have it in for you, didn't he?"

 

Brad smiles.  "Yes, well, he IS, by marriage, a member of the Ewing family, so naturally he'd do whatever he can to protect them.  But, his attempts to keep me off the ORC failed, thanks to you."

 

"Thanks to me?  I'm not the only one who voted for your appointment,"  Claire says.  "Senators Fulbright and Beckett voted for you, as well."

 

"Yes, but I'm not attracted to them,"  says Brad.  "I am, however, VERY attracted to you."  He grabs Claire and pulls her into a kiss.

 

After several seconds, Claire pulls out of the kiss and looks at him.  "I have to go soon.  I have to get back to Austin this evening."

 

"When can I see you again?"

 

"I'm not sure when I'll be getting back to Dallas again.  I'm a married woman, you know."

 

"Well, then, I guess we'd better enjoy what little time we have today, then, and......stop talking."  Brad again pulls Claire back into a passionate kiss.

The Ewing-Catlin Oil field in Cherokee County....

 Meanwhile, Catlin and Sue Ellen are taking a walking tour of the oil field on the property in Cherokee County owned jointly by Bobby and Catlin, the property their great-grandfather had originally owned and willed to his sons.

 

"I appreciate you calling me about the problem, Carl,"  Catlin tells the field's foreman.  

 

"Oh, no problem, Mr. Ewing. I appreciate you comin' on down and takin' care of it."

 

"Anymore problems come up, just give me a call,"  Catlin tells the man.  

 

"Will do, Mr. Ewing.  Miz Ewing, nice seein' you."

 

"Nice seeing you, too, Carl,"  Sue Ellen says.  Carl smiles and walks away.  "He's a nice man."

 

"Oh, yes, Carl has been with me ever since C.J. and I started Catlin Oil."

 

"It looks like the field is doing very well."

 

"It is.  This is one of the richest pieces of land in this part of the state.  If only my grandfather had known about that 100 years ago, a lot of things might have been very different.  Imagine, Sue Ellen, we're standing on land that my great-grandfather, and Bobby's great-grandfather, Charles Ewing, farmed on, never realizing there was an enormous pool of oil right under his feet."

 

Sue Ellen smiles.  "Yes, that IS amazing.  But, I'm actually glad that your great-grandfather didn't know about that oil under his farm back then."

 

"Oh? Why?"  Catlin asks.

 

"Because,, if he had, then your grandfather probably never would've left Texas for Wyoming, and your parents never would've met.  So, if oil HAD been discovered under this land a hundred years ago, you wouldn't even exist.  And, likely none of the present Ewings I know, including my own son.  Because, if Jock's father had come into all that money before he died, then, Jock never would've had to wildcat in East Texas.  He never would've met Digger Barnes, and, therefore never would've met Ellie Southworth and had a family with her.  I just wonder what road my life would have taken had there been no J.R., and no John Ross."

 

Catlin turns to his wife and takes her by the hand.  "Amazing how one little thing can change the course of history, isn't it?  But you, my darling wife, I'm quite sure, would have done just fine with or without the Ewings.  Ya hungry?"

 

"I'm famished."

 

"Good, so am I.  Let's go into town and get some lunch, then head on back to Dallas, what do ya say?"

 

"I say, what are we waiting for?"  Sue Ellen asks with a smile.  The two kiss, then begin walking toward the limousine waiting to take them to town.  

Westar Oil....late afternoon....

 Shawn is working at his desk when his cell phone begins to vibrate on the desk.  Picking it up, he sees it's the number of the burner phone he had given Ricky to call him with.  He quickly answers.  "Hope you have some good news for me,"  he says.  "You know whether the Ewings have said anything about finding that bug at Southfork?"

Meanwhile....

 

"No,"  Ricky replies, talking to Shawn from a car somewhere.  "The Ewings have said nothing of finding the bug.  If I could perhaps get into Southfork, I could see if the bug is still there."

 

"Itn't that kinda risky?"  Shawn asks.  "If the Ewings were to catch you...."

 

"They would not,"  Ricky says.  "I know how to be careful.  If I could only get a moment alone in the living room."

Westar....

 

"Good,"  Shawn says.  "Take care of that as soon as possible, and get back to me.  I wanna hear something from you SOON, Trevino.  And for your sake, I hope you have some good news for me.  If the Ewings have found that bug, if they don't already, make sure you don't do ANYTHING to make them suspect that you were the one who planted it."

 

"Do not worry, I won't,"  Miguel says.  "Nothing will interfere with our plans."

 

"Good, it better not.  Be in touch,"  Shawn says, then hangs up.  

 

Miguel puts down his phone and looks at the person in the car with him.  

 

 

 

"You did good, Miguel," Christopher says.  "Real good.  Now all you have to do is get in touch with Shawn, arrange a meeting with him.  We'll figure out what you should tell him."

 

Miguel nods.  

 

 

The Krebbs home....that evening....

 "Well, I tried my best to keep Brad Barnes OFF the ORC, but, unfortunately, the committee voted against me," Matt tells Ray and Donna that night as he and Margaret are visiting the Krebbs home.  

 

Donna sighs.  "Well, I know that John Ross and Bobby aren't going to be very happy to hear that."

 

"Barnes was so cocky when he got that appointment,"  Matt says.  "Almost like he was thumbing his nose at me."

 

"Well, Barnes got that appointment on the stipulation that he'd act fairly as a member of the ORC, itn't that right?"  Ray asks.

 

"Yes, but Ray, there are a hundred ways Barnes could work around that.  He could put the squeeze on Ewing Oil and do it in a way that makes it look like he isn't maliciously targeting the company,"  replies Matt.  

 

"Well, it's a done deal,"  says Donna.  "Cliff Barnes's son IS on the ORC, and there's nothing we can do about it now."

 

"Nope, at least not until Barnes does something that proves himself unfit to hold the position."

 

"And that's not likely to happen,"  Donna says.  "From everything I've heard about Brad Barnes, he's smarter and more careful than his father was.  Slightly less impulsive, too."

 

"Boy, with Cliff Barnes's son practically controlling which oil company drills where and how much oil they pump outta the ground, Ewing Oil could be in for a real rough time,"  says Ray.

 

"Yes, they sure could,"  Donna says.  "Well, I guess we can't put this off forever.  I may as well call Bobby and give him the bad news."

 

"Hey, why not wait'll tomorrow to do that?"  Ray asks, taking his wife by the hand. "You call over there with this kinda news tonight, all it'll do is keep hjm and John Ross up all night worryin' about somethin' they can't do anything about."

 

"Dad's right,"  says Margaret.  "There'll be plenty of time to worry about this tomorrow. But right now, I am starving, so, how about we eat dinner?"

 

Donna looks at her daughter and smiles.  "Great idea.  Come, help me set the table.  Ray, call Conner and Dylan down and tell them dinner's almost ready."

 

"Sure thing,"  Ray says as Donna and Margaret leave the living room.  

 

 Meanwhile, Dylan is upstairs in his bed looking at some web pages on his computer, researching alternative treatments for cancer. "Dylan!  Conner!"  Ray calls from downstairs.  "Dinner's ready!  Come on down!"

 

"Yeah, be there in a minute, Ray!"  Dylan replies.  He continues to scroll down his search page until he comes to a website that catches his eye.  He clicks on the link and pulls up the page.  He scrolls down the page and comes to a photo of a man, a Dr. Myron Philbin, who specializes in non conventional treatments for what are deemed hopeless cancer patients.....in other words, those that are terminally ill.  Dylan is stunned when he sees in the 

photo this Dr. Philbin is posing with none other than Dr. Mitch Cooper.  Dylan continues reading the article, which goes on to say that Dr. Philbin has a better than 80% success rate in curing illnesses that other doctors and conventional medicine hasn't been able to cure, and he wonders if this man might be able to help Debra Lynn.  

 

"Hey, Dylan, hurry up!"  Ray calls to him from downstairs again.  But Dylan is so caught up in reading that he doesn't hear Ray.  

 

After almost a full minute has passed, Conner opens his brother's bedroom door, startling Dylan.  "Hey, didn't you hear Ray calling you?"  Conner asks.  "Dinner's ready."

 

"Umm, yeah, I heard.  I'm coming."

 

"Hey, what's so interesting you're reading there?"  Conner asks.

 

"Nothing,"  Dylan says.  He quickly bookmarks the webpage, then closes his laptop, putting in on the bed beside him.  He gets up and walks over to his brother.  "Come on,. let's go.  I'm starved."

 

"Dude, were you looking at porn?"  Conner asks as the two walk into the hallway.

 

"Of course not,"  Dylan replies.    

 

 

Southfork....the next morning....

 John Ross and Krystina come down the stairs the next morning and walk into the dining room, where Bobby, Ann, Christopher, Courtney, Jacob, Lucas, Heather, and Michael are already seated for breakfast.  "Mornin',"  John Ross says.  

 

"Morning, John Ross, Krystina,"  says Bobby.  "John Ross, I hear Sue Ellen and Catlin flew down to take a look at our land down in Cherokee County yesterday."

 

"Yeah, there was some kinda trouble down there on one of the wells, but they got it taken care of."

 

"Y'know, I've been thinkin' about flying down there myself real soon,"  Bobby says.  "Been a while since I've been there."

 

"Let me know when you wanna go, and I'll fly down with you,"  says Christopher.

 

"Alright, son, I will."

 

Alex walks into the room.  "Morning, everybody."

 

"Well, good morning,"  says Krystina.  "Oversleep?"

 

"Yeah, I was up late studying for this Biology test,"  Alex replies, taking a seat at the table.

 

"Which reminds me, Michael, hurry up or you'll be late for school,"  says Heather.

 

"You too, Jacob,"  Courtney says.

 

"I will."

 

"Y'know, I've been thinkin',"  Bobby says.  "A while back I mentioned takin' a little trip up to Boone Lake to do a little fishin' and maybe some quail huntin' with the boys, but, things kinda got in the way.  I'd still like to take that trip.  So, what do y'all think about next weekend?"

 

"Next weekend sounds good to me,"  Christopher replies.  

 

"Lucas?"

 

"Sure.  Sounds good to me, too.  This'll be mine and Michael's first father and son hunting and fishing trip together."

 

Michael smiles.  "I can't wait."

 

"John Ross, how about you and Alex?"  Bobby asks.

 

"I appreciate it, Uncle Bobby, but, I think I'll pass,"  replies John Ross.  "I don't really care to spend a whole weekend roughin' it."

 

Christopher looks at his cousin with a smile.  "John Ross, you sure have changed in your old age.  You use to love to go hunting and fishing when we were kids."

 

"Well, that was then, Christopher.  This is now."

 

"Uncle Bobby, if you wouldn't mind, I'd love to go,"  Alex says.

 

"That's wonderful, Alex, you're more than welcome to come."

 

"This is gonna be great,"  Jacob says.  

 

"Are you boys finished yet?"  Heather asks.

 

"I am,"  replies Jacob.

 

"Yeah, me, too,"  Michael says.

 

"Okay, let's go,"  says Heather.  "Get your books."  She and the two boys get up from the table.

 

"Give me a kiss,"  Courtney tells Jacob. 

 

The boy kisses his mother, then leaves the dining room with Heather and Michael.  As they leave the dining room, they pass Donna in the foyer.  "Hey, Donna,"  Heather greets.

 

"Heather, how are you?"  Donna asks as they pass each other.  Donna walks into the dining room.  "Morning, everyone."

 

"Well, Donna, hello,"  says Bobby.

 

"Donna, how are you?"  Ann asks.  "Would you like some breakfast?"

 

"Uh, no, thank you, I've already eaten.  I just came by to talk to Bobby and John Ross."

 

"Well, what's up?"  Bobby asks.

 

"Well, I hate to be the bearer of bad news so early in the morning, but, there is something I think you should know,"  Donna says.

 

"I don't think I like the sound of that,"  says John Ross.

 

"Donna, what's goin' on?"  Asks Bobby.

 

"Well, the, uh, the senate committee in charge of setting up the Oil Regulatory Commission voted yesterday on the Commission's members."

 

"And?"  John Ross asks, dreading the answer.  

 

"Bradley Barnes was appointed to the Commission."

 

"What?"  Christopher asks.

 

"You have GOT to be kiddin' me,"  says John Ross.

 

"I wish I was, but it's true.  Matt did everything he could to try and persuade the committee to vote against Brad Barnes's nomination, but to no avail."

 

"Damn!"

 

"And Barnes, like his father, is just gonna use that position to go after Ewing Oil,"  Bobby says.  "He'll hurt us any way he can, bv denying drilling permits, rescinding variances, whatever he has to do."

 

"Brad Barnes hates this fam'ly just as much as his daddy did,"  John Ross says.  "Well, I'll be damned if I'm gonna stand for this."  John Ross gets up from his seat.

 

"John Ross, what are you gonna do?"  Krystina asks.

 

"Whatever I have to do to get Barnes OFF that Commission."

 

"John Ross, it's already a done deal,"  Donna says.

 

"Maybe so.  But even done deals can be.......UN-done, given the right circumstances,"  John Ross says, then walks out of the room past Donna.  

 

Bobby, Donna, Christopher, and Krystina all exchange looks, each of them worried about what John Ross is going to do.

Justin and Pamela's apartment....

 Meanwhile, Justin and Pamela are having breakfast with Hunter and Randall when the doorbell rings.  "Now who can that be this early?"  Justin wonders.

 

"Well, only one way to find out,"  Pamela replies.

 

"I'll get it."  Justin stands to his feet, walks through the living room and opens the door to find Brad.  

 

"Justin,"  Brad says.

 

"Brad.  A little early for a visit, itn't it?"

 

"I need to talk to my sister.  It's important."

 

Justin sighs, then steps aside to let Brad into the apartment, then closes the door behind him.  Brad walks into the kitchen, followed by Justin.

 

"Morning,"  Brad says to Pamela.

 

"Good morning, yourself.  What brings you over this early?"

 

"I have some news that I just couldn't wait to share."

 

"Good news, huh?"  Pamela asks.  

 

"Yes, very good news,"  says Brad.  "Could we talk alone?"

 

Pamela looks at Justin.  "Sweetheart, would you mind getting the boys dressed?"

 

Justin rolls his eyes.  "Yeah, sure,"  he says.  "Come on, boys."  Justin picks Randall up, and takes Hunter by the hand, and he leaves the room with the boys.

 

"Y'know, Pamela, you sure are lucky, having those two adorable little guys,"  Brad says.

 

"I certainly am.  Brad, it'll happen for you one day."

 

"No.  I don't dare try to become a father again.  Not after what happened to mine and Amanda's son. But, that's not what I came here to talk about."

 

"I'm sorry,"  Pamela says.  "You said you had some good news."

 

"More like GREAT news.  Yesterday, your big brother, ME, was appointed as an official member of the new Oil Regulatory Commission."

 

"What?  Oh my God, Bradley, that's wonderful,"  Pamela says, giving her brother a congratulatory hug.  "I'm so proud of you, and happy for you.  I know Daddy would be proud, too."

 

Brad smiles.  "Thank you for saying that.  This could mean big thing for me, Pamela."

 

"Brad, I do have one question, and one concern."

 

"And what would that be?"  

 

"This is a very powerful position.  You and the rest of the ORC are going to be in charge of the entire oil industry in Texas.  Please tell me that you're not planning on using this position as a weapon against Ewing Oil."

 

Brad looks down at the breakfast table.  "Hey, is that French toast?"  He asks, ignoring her question.  "Mind if I have a piece?"

 

"Sure, but don't ignore my question.  Brad, tell me."

 

Brad picks up a piece of toast and takes a bite, then looks at her.  "Pamela, I'm not going to specifically target Ewing Oil, but I will be watching the Ewings very closely, and the first time I see them doing something I don't like.....the first time I see them pumping even one thimble full of oil over the state's allowance, then I WILL go after them with everything I've got."

 

"In other words, you're going to be looking for a reason to use your new position to go after the Ewings."

 

"Pamela, I have a lot of huge scores to settle with the Ewings,"  Brad says.  "John Ross tried to destroy me, just like his father before him tried for years to destroy OUR father.  The Ewings caused us to lose our company by making it impossible for us to do business.  And until now, I haven't been in a position to do anything about that, but now, I can.  The first time I see the Ewings step even a toe out of line, I'll be there waiting.  And believe me, knowing John Ross the way that I do, it's only a matter of time before he steps not just a toe, but his whole foot out of line.  And when that happens, I'm gonna come down on him and on Ewing Oil with the full weight of the ORC."

 

Pamela looks at her brother with worry.

Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital....

 Mitch is looking over some patient files in his office later in the morning when someone knocks on his door.  "Come in,"  he says.  

 

Dylan opens the door and peeks into the office.  "Dr. Cooper?"

 

"Dylan, come in."

 

Dylan walks into the office.  "If you're not too busy, could I talk to you for a minute?"

 

"Of course,"  Mitch says, standing from his seat.  He walks over to the young man.  "What is it I can do for you?"

 

"Dr. Cooper, I was just wondering........you know a Dr. Myron Philbin, don't you?  The doctor who specializes in alternative treatments for cancer?"

 

"Myron?"  Mitch asks with a smile.  "Why yes, I do know him."

 

"Do you know him very well?"

 

"Yes, he's not only a colleague but a very old friend.  I've known him for 30 years.  Dylan, why all these questions about Dr. Myron Philbin?"

 

"I was on the internet last night, and I came across an article about Dr. Philbin and there was a photo of you with him. And I was just wondering if you know how to get in touch with him?"  

 

"Yes, I know how to get in touch with him.  Dylan, what's going on here?  Why do you wanna get in touch with Dr. Philbin?"

 

Dylan looks at him for a few seconds before answering.  "Dr. Cooper, will you promise me that what I tell you will remain between us?"

 

"Well, Dylan, I'll have to know what it is, first,"  Mitch says.

 

Dylan sighs.  He lowers his head for a moment, then again looks at Mitch.  "I know someone with terminal stage 4 pancreatic cancer, and, I just thought that maybe this Dr. Philbin might be able to help."

 

"I see.  Well, Dylan, I don't know, it's possible.  Dr. Philbin has had some success in treatment of this type of advanced cancer.  Who is this person you're talking about?"

 

"I'd rather not say, Dr. Cooper."

 

"Dylan, please.  If I'm going to help you, and if you want Dr. Philbin to help, then you're going to have to be honest. "

 

Dylan again lowers his head and hesitates before replying.  "It's Debra Lynn Beaumont."

 

A look of shock comes over Mitch's face.  "Debra Lynn?  My God, Dylan, are you sure about this?"

 

"Yes.  I saw her injecting herself with a syringe.  At first, I thought she was shooting up drugs, but when I confronted her about it, she admitted to me that she's dying of pancreatic cancer.  She didn't want anybody else to know, especially not Jimmy and Ashley.  Keeping this secret has been eating away at me for weeks.  Dr. Cooper, can you PLEASE get in touch with your friend?  Debra Lynn doesn't have much time."

 

"Dylan, I'll do everything I can,"  Mitch promises, finally taking at least part of a heavy load off Dylan's shoulders.

 

Jeremy Wendell's apartment....

 

 "Kenneth, I've been thinking about things,"  Jeremy Wendell says to his henchman Kenneth, while standing at the window in his office looking out over the Dallas skyline.  "I've been thinking about the future.  And I think it's time I put the next phase of our plan concerning Shawn into motion." 

 

"You mean the will?"  Kenneth asks.

 

"Yes, the will.  Kenneth, have my attorney Tom Weston come over here immediately.  I want this done as soon as possible.  And, I want a meeting with my grandson this evening."

 

"I'll take care of this right away, Mr. Wendell,"  Kenneth says.  He walks to the door, pauses a moment, then turns back to his boss.  "Mr. Wendell, are you certain that you're doing the right thing?"

 

"Yes, Kenneth, quite certain.  My grandson has proven himself. It's time to take care of the will."

 

"Yes, sir,"  Kenneth says, then leaves the room.  After he's gone, Jeremy returns to looking out the window.

Ewing Oil....

 Sly buzzes John Ross's office.  "John Ross, Senator Collins is on line one,"  Sly says.

 

"Thank ya, Sly."  John Ross picks up his phone and presses the '1'.  "Collins, I guess you know why I called you earlier this mornin'."

 

"Yes.  John Ross, I'm very sorry about what happened with Barnes and the ORC."

 

 "Collins, what the hell happened?"  John Ross asks.  "You were supposed to make damn sure Brad Barnes did NOT get an appointment on the ORC, and then this morning I get the news that Barnes did get that appointment.  I thought you said you had at least one other committee member in your pocket."

 

"I thought I did.  But at the last minute, Beckett defected and voted for Barnes."

 

"Collins, do you know how much trouble Barnes could cause me on that Commission?"

 

"Yes, John Ross, and I'm sorry."

 

"Not sorry as you're gonna be.  You can just forget any campaign contributions from the Ewings during this year's election."  John Ross angrily slams the phone down.  "Damn,"  he says.  After a moment, he picks his cell phone and dials a number.  After the second ring, a man answers.  "It's me.  I AM upset.  Mad as hell is more like it.  Brad Barnes got appointed to the ORC.  Collins failed to do his job, so now, it's too late to keep Barnes off the ORC, but I'm damned sure gonna do everything I can to get him removed from that position, and hopefully, 

disgraced to the point that he'll never be able to find another job again in this state. That's where you come in, Bum.  I know you did a background check on Barnes for a couple years back.  Well, now I want you to do another one. Dig even deeper this time.  Leave no stone unturned.  If Barnes so much as hid porn magazines under his bed as a kid, I wanna know about it.  Get back to me soon."  John Ross ends the call and puts his phone down.  "Barnes, if you think you're gonna use the ORC to hurt Ewing Oil, think again.  I'm gonna crush both you and that little weasel Shawn Smith."

A wooded area near Southfork....

 Miguel is waiting in the woods at the end of a dirt road a couple of miles from Southfork that afternoon when Shawn's car drives up a trail and comes to a stop.  Shawn gets out of the car and walks over to him.  "Well, each time you pick a worse and harder place for us to meet,"  he says.

 

"Well, you would not the Ewings or anyone else to see us meeting, would you?"  Miguel asks.  "This is a very remote area.  No one ever comes here, so this is perfect for meeting."

 

"Okay, then, so tell me.  Were you able to get into Southfork and check to see if the bug is still there?"  Shawn asks.

 

"Yes.  This morning.  I was alone in the living room for a couple of minutes, and I looked under the lamp shade, where I had planted the bug."

 

"And?"  Shawn asks.  "Was the bug gone?"

 

"No.  It was still there, right where I had placed it."

 

"Then, I don't understand.  Why the hell can't I hear anything?  Why did it stop working?"

 

"Perhaps the thing malfunctioned,"  Miguel suggests.  

 

"Maybe, but when I got the damned thing, I was assured it was top of the line.  Think you can get back into Southfork to plant another?"

 

"Oh yes, I can with no problem,"  Miguel replies.  "The Ewings have come to trust me implicitly.  Just give me the new bug, and I will take care of it."

 

"Good.  I'll get you one by tonight.  I want that bug planted ASAP.  Tomorrow morning, if possible."

 

 

"Of course.  I do have one piece of information that you might find interesting. It is about a deal the Ewings have their eye on."

 

"Okay, I'm listening,"  Shawn says.

 

"First, I believe I deserve something in return for my.......information."

 

Shawn looks at the kid angrily for a moment, then he reaches into his pocket and pulls out an envelope.  He hands the envelope to Miguel, who opens it and looks inside.  "The money's all there,"  Shawn says.  "$10,000."

 

"Good.  Gracias,"  Miguel says.  

 

"Now, Miguel........the deal the Ewings are working on."

 

I heard John Ross and Mr. Ewing discussing a huge deal Ewing Oil is trying to put together with Chambers and Harwood Oil.  This deal is worth a lot of money, and I mean a LOT.  I heard John Ross mention the sum of $700 million."

 

Shawn smiles.  "A deal Ewing is working on with Harwood and Chambers, huh?  Anymore details?"

 

"No, that is all I heard.  Only that, they are negotiating.  John Ross wants in on the deal, but, Ewing is having a problem coming up with the money to join Chambers and Harwood."

 

"Are you sure that's what was said?"  Shawn asks.

 

"Absolutely.  Word for word.  Will this help you?"

 

"Will this help me?  Oh yes, this helps more than you know.  I'll get that bug for you and meet you tonight at 10:30, at that road we met at last time."

 

"Fine,"  Miguel says with a nod.  

 

Shawn returns the nod, then walks back to his car and gets in.  Miguel watches as he drives away, then he smiles.

Southfork....a short time later....

 Miguel returns to the bunkhouse at Southfork a short time later, where another ranch hand approaches him.  "Hey, Ricky,"  the other hand says.

 

"Yes, Chad?"

 

"Mr. Ewing said he wants to see you up at the house as soon as you got back from lunch."

 

"Okay, thank you, Chad,"  Miguel says.  Instead of going into the bunkhouse, Miguel turns and begins walking toward the mansion.  

Southfork....the living room.... 

 Miguel knocks on one of the back French doors of the living room a couple of minutes later.  Christopher walks into the living room and opens the door to him.  "Miguel, come in."

 

"Chad said that you wanted to see me.  I just returned from my meeting with Shawn Smith."

 

"Yeah, but that's only part of the reason I wanted you to come up here,"  Christopher says.  "Let me take your coat."

 

Miguel takes off his coat and hands it to Christopher, who tosses the coat onto the back of a chair.  "If it is not about my meeting with Shawn, what did you want to speak with me about?"

 

"There's someone here who wants to see you,"  Christopher replies.  

 

Miguel looks up and he is shocked when he sees his mother, Lucia Trevino, walk into the living room from the foyer.  "Mama?  What are you doing here?"  The boy asks.

"Miguel, I came to see you, my son," Lucia replies.

 

"But, how did you know where to find me?"

 

"Christopher contacted me.  He told me everything."


 

Miguel looks at Christopher.  

 

"Your mother has a right to know where you are, Miguel,"  Christopher says.

 

"I am very grateful that Christopher phoned me,"  Lucia says.  "All these months, I did not know where you were.  I have been worried sick, Miguel."

 

"Mama, I am sorry.  I did not mean to worry you.  Where is Antonio?"

 

"Your brother is in the den, playing a video game with Christopher's brother, Lucas."  Lucia walks over to her son.  "Miguel, you came here seeking revenge against Christopher for your father's death. But perhaps it is time you heard the truth about who your father really was from me."

 

"Why don't you go to my bedroom and your can talk?"  Christopher asks.  "It's all the way at the end of the hall."

 

"Thank you, Christopher,"  says Lucia.  "Come, Miguel."  

 

The boy takes his mother's hand and the two go down the hall together to Christopher and Courtney's room as Christopher watches.  

An hour later....

Lucia and Miguel emerge from the bedroom and return to the living room, where Christopher, Bobby, Ann, Lucas, and Miguel's younger brother, Antonio Trevino, are sitting.  Upon seeing his older brother for the first 

time in several months, 14-year-old Antonio Trevino stands to his feet and walks over to him.  "Hello, Miguel,"  the boy says.

 

Miguel looks at his little brother and smiles through his tears.  "Antonio,"  he says.  Without saying another word, the two brothers embrace as their mother, Christopher, Bobby, Lucas, and Ann look on.  

 

"Lucia, can I offer you and the boys somethin' to eat?"  Ann asks.

 

"Thank you, Mrs. Ewing, that would be very nice."

 

Ann smiles.  "Alright, I'll have Maria fix you somethin'."

 

After a moment, Miguel walks over to Christopher and looks at him.  The boy pauses for a moment before speaking.  "Christopher, I........my Mama explained everything to me.  About my father, and you, and Elena  Ramos.  I do not know what to say.  Since I was 10-years-old I have blamed you for murdering my father, when, in fact......"

 

Christopher places his hand on the boy's shoulder.  "Miguel, you don't have to say another word.  I understand."

 

"I am sorry, for the things I have done."

 

"I know you are, son.  I know.  Now, how'd your meeting with Shawn go?"

 

"It went....."

 

"Christopher,"  Lucia says, interrupting her son.  "I do not like this.  I do not like my son being used like this as a pawn.  I could be dangerous."

 

"Mama, I want to do this,"  Miguel says.  "I need to do this.  I have a lot of things to make up for, and I owe Christopher and the rest of the Ewings a lot.  They could have turned me over to the police, but they did not.  I want tgo help them defeat Shawn Smith.  And trust me, I will be careful."

 

Lucia walks over to her son and embraces him.

Jeremy Wendell's apartment....that evening....

 Jeremy is standing at the window of his living room in his apartment that evening sipping on a glass of brandy when Shawn walks in.  "Grandfather, you wanted to see me?"

 

"Yes, Shawn, I did.  Fix yourself a drink?"

 

"Thank you,"  Shawn says.  He walks to the bar and pours himself a glass of scotch.  "So, what'd you wanna see me about?"

 

"Shawn, have a seat,"  Jeremy says.  He walks over and takes a seat in his chair.  Shawn takes a seat on the sofa across from him.  "Shawn, I've been keeping very close tabs on you, through Kenneth, of course, and through others.  And I must say that I'm, very impressed.  Very impressed, indeed.  I was skeptical at first when you took over as head of Westar, but despite your very young age, you've proven yourself to be a very capable and astute businessman, as well as a very crafty one.  That's a trait that I admire greatly."

 

"Thank you, Grandfather.  I'm sure I inherited that trait from you."

 

"Shawn, I think that you have more than earned your rightful place as my sole heir and successor,"  Jeremy says.  "So, today, I had my attorney, Tom Westin, draw up a new last will and testament.  Of course the actual document won't be ready for a couple of days, but here is a rundown of what's in my new will."  Jeremy picks up a file folder from the coffee table, opens it, and hands it to Shawn.  

 

The young man takes the file and looks at it.  His mouth drops open in shock.  "Oh my God," he says.

 

"That's right, Shawn.  Upon my death, you will inherit everything I now own,"  says Jeremy.  "And that includes this penthouse and the floors above and below it, all of my Westar stock, which will give you complete controlling interest in the company, a considerable amount of stock from various other corporations, as well as a fortune of more than $750 million in several bank accounts.  You will be an extremely wealthy and powerful young man."

 

"Grandfather, I.....I honestly don't know what to say."

 

"Well, then, don't say anything.  Just don't ever give me any reason to regret my decision."

 

 

 

 

"Don't worry, Grandfather,"  Shawn says with a smile.  "I promise, I'm gonna make you proud.  And, neither of us will ever regret this."

 

"I'm counting on that,"  Jeremy says, raising his glass in a toast.  Shawn also raises his glass.

 

 

 

 

 

Shawn's apartment....later....

 Shawn walks into his apartment later that night, still smiling triumphantly over learning that he was about to inherit a fortune totalling more than one billion dollars.  He walks to his bar and pours himself a drink.  "Well, well, Tripp,"  he says.  "Looks as if I'm about to get that inheritance you never lived to get, big brother.  Now all I have to do is wait for that old man to die, and it'll all be mine.......Westar, all that money.  There'll be no stopping me, and then, I'll use whatever means are at my disposal to destroy the Ewings once and for all."  Shawn takes a sip of his drink, then begins laughing.

Brad's apartment....

 Meanwhile, Brad comes down the hall and walks into the living room of his apartment.  As he is about to leave the apartment, his cell phone rings.  Taking the phone from his pocket, he looks at it and sees that it's Claire Warner calling.  He smiles, then answers the call.  "Well, hello, there,"  he says.

 

"Hello, there yourself.  I hope I didn't interrupt anything."

 

"Not at all, I was just about to go out and grab some dinner,"  Brad says.  "To what do I owe the immense pleasure of hearing your lovely voice this evening, Mrs. Warner?"

 

"Why, Mr. Barnes, you certainly are a flatterer."

 

"I sure try my best."

 

"Well, I won't keep you.  I was calling with some news.  Charlie Carr, who was to head the ORC, has suddenly stepped down from that position, and, in an emergency meeting earlier this evening of the Senate committee, you were named as the new head of the Texas Oil Regulatory Commission, effective immediately.   I volunteered to give you the good news.  You should have seen the look on Matt Culver's face when you got the appointment, I thought he was gonna have a stroke."

 

"Claire, you......you wouldn't be kidding me, now would you?  I'm the new head of the ORC?"

 

"You certainly are, and a very powerful man in the state of Texas.  Congratulations."

 

"Oh my God, Claire, thank you.  Umm, thank you for calling me."

 

"You're gonna need to fly to Austin tomorrow to meet with the other members of the ORC.  Soo, why don't we get together and celebrate?  My husband will be out of town on business for a couple of days."

 

Brad smiles.  "I love the sound of that. Claire, you didn't, ummm, you didn't by any chance have anything to do with ol' Charlie Carr stepping down as head of the ORC did you?"

 

"Well, let's just say some information about Mr. Carr fell into my lap that proved instrumental in convincing him that you would be the better man to head the ORC."

 

Brad laughs.  "You are a woman after my own heart."

 

"Your heart......and your body,"  Claire says.

 

"I'll call you tomorrow when I arrive in Austin.  Thanks again, Claire.  Good night."  Brad ends the call, a huge smile on his face.  "YEEEOOWEE!!"  He lets out a yell of happiness.  Brad walks over to his bar and pours himself a drink.  As he takes a sip, his eyes fall on a framed photo of Cliff sitting near the bar.  He picks up the

photo and looks at it.  "Well, Dad, I did it,"  he says.  "I'm now head of the ORC, a position you should've had.  Well, I'm gonna make you proud, and, I promise you, if it's the last thing I ever do, I'm going to make the Ewings pay for every wrong they ever did to you.......and to me."  Brad smiles as he continues to look at his father's photo.

END OF EPISODE 223....

Write a comment

Comments: 22
  • #1

    Frankaye ross ewing (Friday, 20 March 2020 23:13)

    Great episode

  • #2

    Brian (Friday, 20 March 2020 23:37)

    I see Shawn's world gonna end up in the cornfield like that Twilight Zone episode. Miguel/ Ricky doing the right thing and Brad the ORC head wow!!!. Dylan I hope you can help Debra Lynn. Loved this episode immensely

  • #3

    Parker Bena (Friday, 20 March 2020 23:57)

    I don't know what GOT Brad Barnes on that Oil Commission, but I've got a feeling that what's going to KEEP him on that Oil Commission is his Johnson. Brad. Like your buddy Tripp and that punk ass little shit Shawn. You're going to mess with the Ewings one time too many and it's going to come back to bite you in the ass. And, Shawn. Enjoy your happiness while you can. Because one day when you least expect it, it's all to be taken away from you.

  • #4

    Chris Hawkins (Saturday, 21 March 2020 11:33)

    John,

    Another wonderful episode, can wait for the next. Stay safe and healthy!

    Chris

  • #5

    Verena (Saturday, 21 March 2020 14:26)

    And let the Ewing/Barnes feud start all over again! Yes, be afraid Pamela, be very afraid!

  • #6

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 21 March 2020 17:10)

    Good old Brad Barnes. Letting his Johnson make business decisions for him again. Cliff did not have half the success with the ladies that his son is apparently having. The area in which Brad most closely resembles his father is in his, as J.R. once said, "massive ego and unbelievable stupidity."

  • #7

    Rose Meisenhelder (Saturday, 21 March 2020 17:46)

    Brad I hope you're using protection since you don't want to risk producing another doomed child.

  • #8

    David Rodriguez (Saturday, 21 March 2020 20:06)

    So, will Jeremy Wendell make it past the next couple of days before the will becomes official? I could see that thug, Kenneth, causing some interference.

  • #9

    Timmy (Saturday, 21 March 2020 20:15)

    Good episode but I got no doubt brads appointment with the OLM is gonna cause problems between him and Pamela especially since she is married to Justin and Wendell giving his entire fortune to Shawn he will be very powerfully interesting times ahead

  • #10

    Parker Bena (Saturday, 21 March 2020 22:25)

    Because ya need slappin' down, Brad. Tomorrow morning, the janitor's gonna come in and sweep ya out with the rest of the trash.

  • #11

    Ada Vincent (Saturday, 21 March 2020 23:13)

    Great writing as usual love it

  • #12

    Will (Wednesday, 25 March 2020 03:41)

    Another great episode, John. Just when Shawn has everything lined up for him, a huge crash of reality is coming. Don't mess with the Ewings. I'm waiting for the collapse of the secret ColbyCo deal to bring John Ross down a few pegs. He's so full of himself with Lila and Christopher.

  • #13

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 15:25)

    You know what Brad, you are going to end up losing that job, and getting buried six feet into the ground with the decisions you have made. Obsessing with married women, those guys already have husbands. John Ross almost killed you last time. He got you back by denying you and your late father permits. I hope Claire’s husband shows up and whoops your ass, you will have it coming. Why can’t you pick a single woman without baggage? You make things more complicated than they really are.

  • #14

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 15:30)

    And lately he’s been going on too easy with you. But with your new position, you can best believe he’s coming at you guns ablazing. You will not use your position to come after the Ewings. Everybody knows that’s what you are going to do at the end of the day, and everything. But then you will fall flat on your face.

  • #15

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 15:37)

    As for you Shawn, don’t get too comfortable waiting for that money because soon it will be all over for you, and everything. You will lose out on all those millions and your new job that has got you so greedy, and power hungry. Then you will be broke and you have to move back in with your mom. And she has already lost one son.

  • #16

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 19:38)

    Will, let me explain something to you. The Ewings are a dynasty. They have the means and resources to deal with anybody. They also have a stellar reputation too. To be connected with somebody like Lila Winthrop and her common prostitute of a mother is absolutely disgraceful. Think of the other situations with JRs children. At least JR knew of Justin, and Jill. Justin’s mother married into the family. Vanessa Beaumont was James mother. Kimberly Cryder was a well-respected Westar official. JR never laid eyes on Lila. As for Christopher, John Ross is just concerned that he’s being taken advantaged of.

  • #17

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 23:06)

    Shawn Smith is going to fail and lose all his millions. It’s coming and then the old man will lose faith in him. One thing for sure is Shawn Smith is definitely a combination of Carter McKay, Jeremy Wendell, and his brother Tripp McKay. But I also see him making the same mistakes Tripp McKay did too. Shawn is going good to end up dead at the season finale.

  • #18

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 23:12)

    Dylan might have come up with the biggest assist to save his woman’s mothers life. And Dr. Mitch Cooper just might have the best person to tell because he knows Debra Lynn, and he can help her. I think everything will work out in the end.

  • #19

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020)

    Do yourself a favor Miguel, go back to school. Go back to your family, your mom, your brother, and get on your with life. You are very lucky that Christopher has an amazing heart at the end of the day, and everything. Or else he would have turned you over to the cops for attempted murder. John Ross was absolutely ready to do that.

  • #20

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 23:47)

    I admit I miss Krystina working at Ewing Oil. I want her to be more than a housewife and everything. She’s so good at working and she knows how the oil business is ran.

  • #21

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 23:55)

    Pamela, just please tell Justin about the dreaded Barnes disease. You guys will figure it out from there at the end of the day, and everything. I love you guys as a couple.

  • #22

    Derek Mathews (Friday, 27 March 2020 23:57)

    Hope Byrce is going to be ok.